I’m happy to announce the release of GitQlient 1.1.0
After two and a half months from the first release here I present a new release with some fixes, several improvements and new features. The main focus on this release was to improve the stability of GitQlient, making it faster on Windows (there is room for improvement still) and adding some big features that didn’t go into the first release for time reasons.
During this development phase, some non-development tasks where done as well. One thing I wanted was to improve the documentation and the guides and for that reason I’ve shipped the GitQlient User Manual. Another thing I’ve added is Doxygen documentation to the headers (although it’s not yet finished). It will speed up the future documentation for developers who want to collaborate with the project. Related with that, I’ve also set up a Wiki to show the release plan and I’m currently working with GitHub kanban boards.
Finally, in the part of new features, the major addition is The Merge View, that will show the files that are in conflict and will allow you to resolve the conflict. The edition of the files, though, is done in a external editor that you can now configure. The future will be a live editor in GitQlient.
You can find the binaries for GitQlient 1.1.0 on the release section on the GitHub repo:
- GitQlient for Linux (AppImage)
- GitQlient for Windows (Installer)
- Download Source code
What’s new in GitQlient 1.1.0?
The new version includes a lot of things:
- New merge view
- Basic Git config UI
- Quick access to the recent projects in the init screen
- Improved display of branches distance
- Improved UX when pushing a local branch
- Improved UX when checkout a branch
- Improved UX for the graph view
- Ability to open an external editor to edit files
- Improved performance on Windows
- Added Doxygen
- Added User Manual
- Added Planning
The Merge View
The merge view it’s special since it isn’t accessible as a regular view. It’s only triggered when GitQlient detects that a merge, pull or cherry-pick has conflicts.
As you can see, once this view is activated a red banner will appear under the quick access buttons. It will remain there until the merge is done. It doesn’t mean you cannot do other Git actions. But you won’t be able to push anything until solved. Of course, you can still navigate between all the other views.
As I said, you can see the release planning and all the features that every release will contain in the Release Plan.
As always, if you’d like some feature or you’re missing something in GitQlient, check that it’s not yet in the backlog and open an issue on GitHub!
Leave a Reply